Paganini upsampler vs DAC filters

I’m a newbie with the Paganini. What’s the relationship between upsampler and DAC filters? What are likely to be the best options for 44.1 to DSD?

Thx,
Jeff

Jeff, there’s no direct relationship between the two sets of filters as such.

The filters on the Upsampler effect the bit rate upsampling, while on the DAC they’re analog reconstruction filters. The User Manuals explains the functional differences between them.

The “best” is what you decide sounds best to you - you won’t break anything by trying any/every filter. :grin:

1 Like

Thx for the response. Which manual(s)? I have the stack, LESS the transport. The 3 manuals I have address each component, but don’t talk much about synergies between them and how to optimize SQ across the stack — though they are very clear on each piece.

What I have found: for 44.1->DSD Filter 5 on the Upsampler seems better than 1. (Mainly I’m listening to classical at medium volume.)

Beyond that, this may mark me as “not a true enthusiast,” but trying all 24 (?) possible combos isn’t a thrill for me. I like a little guidance from the Mother Ship. :wink:

Jeff

You’re right, the User Manual doesn’t mention synergies between the units (except for the physical connections) or how to “optimise SQ”, but that’s because what sounds “optimum” varies from person to person, there’s no one particular optimum setting as such.

For example, you seem to like upsampling Redbook to DSD, Many others don’t. Likewise your preference for filter 5 with its associated non-linear phase response. Many others prefer filter 1 with better alias rejection.

Etc etc, I think you get the point :slight_smile:

1 Like

Got it, thx.

So for redbook, aside from DSD, what’s the other “leading brand”?