Boulder + dCS (2160 review)

Boulder 2160 Review
A few folks have reached out to me via DM about the Boulder 2160 amplifier and I’m finally getting around to posting my personal listening notes. This is my first time writing a review of an audio product, and I’m not using ChatGPT to assist (or any other AI agent), so I hope no one gets upset, or tries to get me kicked off the forum, again… (!) ; )

I also hope that the review below will be marginally helpful to those considering Boulder as a brand/product.

Before beginning the review, I thought I would provide some context of my system philosophy. I have learned a tremendous amount from others on this forum and many of you have incredible systems with multiple sources and other features that I greatly admire. In my case, I still work 60+ hours a week, live in a NYC apartment, and I have little time for experimentation, critical listening sessions and/or dealer loans. As such, my purchase decisions start with a philosophy that emphasizes longevity and simplicity. I don’t generally “try” products for a few months and swap them out, but instead seek to keep anything I buy for at least 10 years. Accordingly, I do a fair amount of research and ask as many questions as I can beforehand, then make a decision, and unless it is a true blunder, stick with it for some time.

As such, when my longtime modest tube amp, Jadis DA-88S, needed to be re-tubed, this prompted some broader searching around what amp could anchor my system for the next 10+ years of my audio journey. A number of sources communicated to me that their opinion was Boulder was the best amplifier made in the United States. One Boulder dealer I respect indicated that in 20 years of carrying the product he has had less than 5 service incidents (!) This, other research, and a discount opportunity ultimately led to the purchase. My signal path for this review is: Roon Nucleus->Rossini Apex->Boulder->SF Guarneri.

Positives