Understanding Mosaic and Roon

Hoping to get some clarification on how Mosaic playback actually works with Roon Server.

I have been accessing Roon Sever on my SGC i5 without issues for over 6 years now, all rock solid. When I set up the unit I loaded some of my CD’s and purchased files on to a 2TB drive in the unit. Since that time I am accessing new music via Tidal and Roon. Everything works great.

Here is where I am confused. On a few occasions I wanted to try playback using the Mosaic app for playback rather than Roon. From various threads I have read I would need to add something such as Minimserver to get this to work. So what is happening when I Shut Down Roon via its web interface and then get music from Mosaic. It appears that Mosaic “may” automatically restart Roon and I get music.

If I again stop Roonserver while the music is playing, music continues via Mosaic. Is this via Tidal not Roon?

Any clarification is appreciated.

Jim, I don’t quite follow your question exactly, but to clarify, the way Roon Server allows you to stream from Tidal or Qobuz to your dCS unit is quite different and totally independent of Mosaic Control streaming Tidal and Qobuz to your dCS unit.

In the case of your local music files, Roon Server serves them directly to your dCS unit controlled by Roon Remote (or Roon Server’s GUI itself), whereas Mosaic Control requires a UPnP server (like MinimServer) that it controls to stream to your dCS units.

2 Likes

Hi,

Mosaic and Roon are TOTALLY independent … neither know of each others existence on your network and do not “talk” to each other.

If you have music stored locally on your network on a shared folder then Roon can be set to index that music - if you wish that music to be accessible via Mosaic then you will need to have a UPnP server running on your network that is set up to index that same shared music.

Both Mosaic and Roon are able to access music on TIDAL and Qobuz but they do it independently.