New to dCS. Lina DAC

Hi, I’m Colin, and I’m new to the dCS family, having just purchased a Lina DAC.

I’m using it in my 2 channel system, comprising an Audio Research Ref 6SE preamp, Ref 75SE power amp and Quad ESL 57 speakers.

The Lina replaced a Schiit Yggdrasil DAC, which despite its price point was a very good DAC. The Lina is better by far. Out of the box that much was obvious. I’ve been burning it in with a combination of music and the burn-in feature.

I know it’s not going to be long before I buy the clock to go with it. Will it be the Lina clock or the Rossini clock ? I don’t know yet.

Lots to read here, so I look forward to contributing to the forum.

Thanks
Colin

9 Likes

Welcome to the community, Colin, and enjoy your new Lina(s).

1 Like

A special hello from me as well. I believe there are not too many of us electrostatic speaker owners within the dCS community. I also used to power my Martin Logan’s with Audio Research kit prior to migrating to Chord electronics amplification. Love them both. As a Lina user I suspect you will find a healthy community of electrostatic headphone (or should I say ear-speaker) users. I replaced my SME turntable front end with a dCS Rossini and clock after a brief flirtation with a Chord DAC.

1 Like

The Quad ESL 57 are wonderful speakers often voted as among the best ever produced. I used them from 1970 to 1986 ( replaced with 63s then ATC actives).

However the speaker has its own foibles and one thing that does catch my eye is your use with AR Ref 75 SE amps. What I am going to say depends upon the 57s you have and their provenance.
Original 57s did not have protection circuits and were designed to be used with low powered amplification, namely the Quad II - 15W/channel from KT66s. Refurbished 57s will sometimes have protection fitted but you need to find out if you do not already know.