Has Naim lost their way in high-end digital? Discuss

Lots of ex-Naimies here it seems so I am curious to understand what I perceive as a bit of a trend. Has Naim faltered in its pursuit of the SoTA in digital or were they maybe never really there to start with?

I have always admired Naim but thinking back I have never actually owned any of their kit. When I was at University and bought my first ever system (comprising a Rega Planar 3, Mission Cyrus 2 and Mordaunt Short MS-20s) a NAC 32.5/NAP250 was my ultimate drool amplification for a while (until I discovered Audio Research and Krell which is where I eventually headed). But on the amplification side I have always seen them as one of the best indigenous producers.

On the digital side I have very little experience. I chose the original Uniti for my father when at the age of about 80 he downsized from the bigrig (Delius/Purcell) and moved to a house with a smaller listening (oops, living-) room. The Uniti is just superb, offering radio, CD, streaming and file playback and even powering his Stageline Phono. The sound through his PMC transmission lines (FB1+?) is absolutely glorious. Having taken it apart a couple of times I can say it is a superb piece of audio engineering, built to last with quality through and through. The only problem he has experienced was the dead display which I have now found can be easily remedied with a replacement costing Ā£80 on ebay. Last week I bought an identical unit for Strutslet #1 as she prepares to flee the nest and brought it back with me following last weekendā€™s visit. Ā£540 on ebay (with newly swapped screen!), I find it hard to believe that can be beaten for either functionality or SQ at anything close to the price. Just (hopefully) snagged a pair of Linn Keilidhs for Ā£150 (including cables), no stands needed so for less than Ā£700 she is off to the races with a system that should last her a very long time.