DSDx2 Stutters on High-Res

I am new to Vivaldi. I just got hold of a 3 piece stack (DAC, upsampler and clock). All units are fully upgraded and updated, including the last Mosaic update. So DAC is running v 2.11 and upsampler v 2.10, with network board on v. 503.

I use Roon, with no dsp. My library is AIFF.

Yesterday, while listening with the upsampler output on DSDx2, I experienced some severe stuttering when playing high res files (192/24 and 96/24). It doesn’t happen when playing redbook, neither when using different output settings on upsampler.

How can I troubleshoot?

I have tried a couple of 24/192 files this afternoon and a few 24/96 files with the Upsampled output set to DSDx2 and I have no issues at all.

While you wait for Andrew who is very knowledgeable to respond here are a couple of questions.
1-Do you have the Upsampler and DAC set to Auto WorldClock?
2- You are using Dual AES connections from Upsampler to DAC

I’m not sure if those are important but I’m having no issues.

This is likely an issue with your clock configuration, especially if it’s only happening when upsampling to DSD with an input rate that’s a multiple of 48kHz.

Cabling

Make sure that the clock cables are routed exactly as shown in this diagram. Be especially careful on the Upsampler as there are 4 BNC connectors in a row and the ones you want are the middle two.

Clock Setup
Be sure that clock bank 1 is set to output 44.1kHz and bank 2 is set to output 48kHz

Sync Mode
On both the Upsampler and DAC check the sync mode settings via:

MENU > SETTINGS

On the Upsampler the sync mode is the first setting and it should look like this

(that’s a W with no number)

If it’s not set that way (auto wordclock) then cycle through the options until that icon pops up.

The process on the DAC is the same, but the sync mode is the second setting on that list.