DCS Bartok - Popping noise on some network inputs

Hello DCS Community,

I’m experiencing the following issue with my setup, on all network inputs except Spotify, I experience a popping sound frequently.

Here’s the setup details: (Note we’re mid upgrade and just did speakers)

Wadia Transport
DCS Bartok DAC (No Apex yet)
Classe CA-200 AMPS
Wilson Audio Alexx V Speakers

Network side:
Ubiquiti edge switches
Ubiquiti agg switches for core
TrueNAS for data
Proxmox HyperVisor with various VM running streaming apps (Subsonic, Jellyfin, etc)

I’ve gone through the various information on the network and DCS Bartok side, such as log files, switch port errors, etc. Nothing to report at all.

Spotify streaming works great, no clipping, no popping, 0 issues other than lower than optimal quality.

Qobuz, Tidal, and AirPlay sources (Subsonic, JellyFin, etc) all generate popping sounds very frequently.

Any ideas, input, etc would be appreciated.

For background I’m an experienced engineer (AI, Cyber, Technical Operations, Network Engineering, etc) and I’m more than glad to do whatever troubleshooting is required even if packet captures or something complicated is required.

Thank you for your time and consideration.

Looking forward to the Apex upgrade and maybe a Rossini Apex soon!

Is the popping sound related to the music playing, pops on the rhythm of the music, the base, loud passages? Or is it random?

How is the output voltage set on your Bartok? 0.2 - 0.6 - 2 - 6V?

1 Like

Hello Ermos, thank you for your reply.

The popping sound is random and present in every track.

I’ve tried with 0.2, 0.6, 2, and 6 volt and it’s still present.

The primary listener in my household prefers it at 6V.

We’re not using a pre-amp.

Thanks!

1 Like

Your welcome. I just try to figure out what is happening, so I tried to find out if your popping is clipping.