SQ of NAS vs HD connecting to Bartok via USB

Hi,
Looking for experience whether there is a sound quality difference between playing files from NAS vs from a USB HD directly connected to Bartok. Is one better than the other?

Thanks

Hello cekm!
I have no experience regarding sound quality with various inputs into Bartok - however, I have now lived two months with dCS Network Bridge (NB) in my system and experimented with input through USB and ethernet cables and with the NAS placed far and near the switch connected to NB.
First I thought that TIDAL through ethernet cable was best. Music from my NAS in the office on next floor (10-15 m away) just wasn’t near the same SQ as TIDAL. Then I connected a WD MyBook via USB to the NB and experienced at least the same quality as when streaming TIDAL. In both instances I used the Mosaic app. Not so practical when trying to browse through hundred of artitsts or albums on the USB connected HDD.
Then came a major shift in my practice. The Mosaic and the NB was updated, I moved the NAS to a cupboard in my listening room and connected it to the same switch as the NB. Suddenly I heard the same or better SQ from the library on my NAS. What a relief! I also learned how to program the Minim Server on my Synology NAS so that Albums, Artists and other variables would be sorted and appear in alphabetic order in the Mosaic app.
Now I have very good SQ from NAS and from TIDAL (and also internet radio of course) and I use the USB connection only for what I read I was intended for - playing music from USB sticks brought by guests.
Best of luck with your system, cekm!
Zyberguran
PS. Ethernet cables and switch also matter - but that is another discussion.

Zyberguran, thank you so much for sharing.

Cekm