Possible to disable Airplay on Rossini Player?

I notice in the manual for Rossini Player and the manual for Mosaic that the lower output voltages (.6, .2) are available due to risk of Airplay sending volume setting at very high level which could damage amp and/or speakers. However this seems like it might not be ideal for sound quality and volume control when using other sources… especially when trying to match directly to a power amp and keep volume between -30 and -10. I don’t see any provision to just disable Airplay in order to avoid the risk and be able to use the higher output voltages without fear. Am I missing this or am I not understanding something else. Thank you.

Airplay is only enabled if you have set an Airplay password in the device settings.

1 Like

Fantastic! Thank you.

1 Like

Depends on gear. I have Rossini APEX dac with separate master clock. I set the voltage to 6 volts. I have a VAC master pre-amp. With my pre-amp the volume control is before any of the gain stages in the unit ( some gear that is not the case so you have to be careful and most set at 2 volts or below ). So with my VAC the pre-amp sound is identical regardless of voltage it’s more of what setting makes the Rossini DAC sound best. Recently I have turned off dither 1 and 2 on the separate master clock and I find the sound more clear and native. I think the dither can come into play with some Qbuz files that are more crappy in quality and need rendering more. Sometimes less is more if the file is already quality to begin with.

Hi Joel, welcome to the dCS community.

Actually, the function of “Dither” on dCS Master Clocks is to enable whatever dCS component the Master Clock is connected to to better lock onto the incoming Clock signal. It doesn’t have anything directly to do with Sources, streamed or otherwise.

You can read about it here.