New dCS owner :streamer advice sought

Hello,
A newbie here having recently acquired a Bartok and Rossini clock.
So far, I have not plugged in the clock so this question is solely in relation to a Bartok.
My system (prior to the dCS purchases) comprised an Aurender n20 streamer (harddrive music, tidal and spotify) which fed via USB (Shunyata) into a Meridian 808v6 cd/pre amp/dac into CH Precision A1.5 power amp and Stenheim Alumine 3 speakers.
Post dCS purchase, I have kept the 808v6 for cd replay but I have found very little difference to the sound quality when streaming from the Aurender N20 (via USB) into the Bartok compared to simply attaching a portable hard drive via USB to the Bartok or streaming directly from the Bartok via ethernet cable into the wall.
This has really surpised me , especially considering that the Aurender N20 costs around £12k. I have tried a few different USB cables and also ethernet cat cables and the outcome is the same. No noticeable improvement to the sound quality.
I am now considering to remove the N20 from my system.
Are the ethernet and USB inputs on the Bartok really that good? or do I need to try something else to bring out the sound quality?
Assuming I remove the Aurender, but want something more robust than a portable harddrive (connected via USB) into the Bartok, what can be recommended - a Melco?
Thank you

1 Like

Many people in this forum seem to use Melco.
In combination with my dCS Network Bridge I settled for a fanless QNAP HS-264-8G NAS equipped with two Samsung SSDs as a music server. For me this was the most economical solution. (My DAC is a Vivaldi).
But I’m still trying to find out about the best music server app (e.g. Mosaic, Mosaic with minimserver (or another server) on the NAS, QNAP qmusic).