Hi-Fi Audio quacks

Professionally, my company deals with consumers. This means that with respect to audio, I am a novice, and I am here to learn. Many members of this community possess expertise in audio and engineering. I am grateful that they are active here, so that I can learn from them/you… Thank You!

The most important thing when you work with consumers–i.e., my job, dealing with members of the public–is trust. There is an information assymmetry that naturally develops, between a company and a consumer–because I and my team spend 12+ hours a day on the same topic, and the public doesn’t–that results in us knowing more about our industry than a random member of the public. This result is obvious and I take this trust very seriously. As an corroborating example, the engineering team at dCS certainly possesses more knowledge about audio engineering than any of us individually and I trust them. Accordingly, I buy dCS’s products. (If the aforementioned statement isn’t true, please apply now, so we all can benefit!)

Accordingly and conversely, it infuriates me when someone in a position of trust violates the trust of the public.

As such, this what a “respected” reviewer wrote at The Absolute Sound wrote about MQA:

“To recap, MQA is a technology that simultaneously improves digital sound quality while dramatically lowering the bit-rate. It’s an encode-decode system, meaning that for maximum fidelity the music must be encoded with MQA, and played back through a device with MQA decoding.”

This is, forgive my “french”, Absolute Bullsh-t.

If this statement, published on-line with thousands and thousands of views over a decade, and part of a massive, corrordinated, mis-information campaign, doesn’t make you furious, then click “Back” or “Delete”, and move on.