DXD, DSD, DSDX2, filters and maps

I’m new to dCS having now the Bartok Apex.

Love the sound but it remembers me like an BMW M3 i had that with so many options for steering well, gearbox, suspension, sometimes I didn’t know what combo to use. From 4 years to now Porsche client and much simple, want Normal? Sport? Sport +? And Porsche already did things for me.

Here in the dCS we have so many filters and maps and formats that confuses me a little, i confess i would like them to just present the best sound or with 3 options max.

So, with so many options i would like to know what combinations of decoding, filters and Maps people most like.
I know that the system can have diferent results, but i would like to ear from the users opinions and recommendations.

By the way, my system is the DartZeel CTH-8550 amp, Wilson Alexia 2 and Metronome T5 Transport all connect by Nordost Tyr 2 cables.

Thanks and good listenings wishes.

2 Likes

Firstly we need to decide exactly what “best” means. The filters and map options do not result in a clearly measurable improvement , at least to us consumers. Perhaps dCS’ unique measuring equipment might reveal something but otherwise all you are left with is preference. Preference is a personal matter not only dependent upon the system, room and programme material, but importantly the hierarchy of musical and sonic events to the listener.

I will go back to your sports car metaphor. If you move from one Porsche to a different model there may be a 0-62 mph of 4.2 secs specification for one model, the other slower. This shows a clearly better performance for one in this respect compared to the other. When talking about filters or mapping there is no equivalent. In fact the whole point of dCS offering a choice rather than giving fixed filters is that there is no answer.