dB volume level for 1.5v RMS output on Bartok

This is probably a question for one of the dCS engineers.

On the Bartok one of the line level output settings is 2v RMS, when the volume control on the Bartok is set to 0dB.

If you would like 1.5v RMS at output what level in dB do you need to set the Bartok volume knob after setting the line level setting to 2v RMS?

As the volume is on a logarithmic scale it is difficult to set this or work it out without measuring the output with a test signal and a oscilloscope.

dCS can you help?

Thanks.

Hi Qrio and welcome to the forum.

I am not a dCS engineer , only one of the members here.

In a way there isn’t a straightforward answer to your question and I wonder what you are trying to achieve. The output voltage depends not only on the line level voltage chosen and the setting of the volume control but also on the modulation level of the program being played. Normally this may vary from one file to another and also throughout a piece of music. You will only get 2V output ( if that is selected) when processing a signal modulated at the maximum level of 0.0dBfs. However this is normally going to be an unknown to you. That level may also rarely be reached with well engineered practical music files . However it can be reached with some rock/pop material which has fallen victim to the “loudness wars” but even then it may be briefly ( albeit repeatedly) .

So if you have set line level voltage to 2v and set the volume control to -2.5dB ( the approximate difference between 2v and 1.5V) Bartok won’t necessarily output 1.5V. It depends upon the program. You could only guarantee that output voltage with a test file where all samples are at 0.0dBfs.

Thanks Pete.

I understand what you are saying.