DAC: Rossini vs Vivaldi

Would any of these beat a Vivaldi DAC with Network Bridge as a Roon end point:

1. Rossini DAC.
  2. Rossini DAC with Network Bridge.
  3. Rossini DAC with Network Bridge and Clock.

3 would cost about the same as the Vivaldi DAC with Network Bridge. Would it sound as good though?

I’m no expert, but I cannot imagine how.

dCS are very careful to ensure that there are clear audible gains when moving from one range up to the next level in the hierarchy. Vivaldi is superior to Rossini.

The only component that delivers the actual sound that you hear is the DAC. Yes the components that supply the data for conversion are very important. However the finest audio quality that that data can provide ultimately depends upon the DAC. So whatever the combination, a Vivaldi DAC based system will always sound better than a Rossini DAC based one.

1 Like

Even though the Vivaldi DAC (no other Vivaldi Upsampler or clock components) does not have the Rossini upsampling capability? Have you compared the two directly?

Your original proposition compared the Vivaldi DAC with a Network Bridge against other contenders. That has no upsampler component. Now you introduce the Rossini’s upsampling feature . If you were familiar with my postings you would already know that I regard upsampling as degradation rather than improvement ( BTW, I do own a Vivaldi upsampler). Still, some like to be dazzled by the numbers.

When it was introduced by dCS before the turn of the century after some Japanese enthusiasts had added the professional dCS D to D converter to their Elgar systems it may have had merit . Yes I used it in the form of the Purcell. But the dCS DACs have improved so much subsequently that IMO the sonic aberrations introduced by upsampling outweigh any advantage.