New Member New System

Newbie here but been lurking on and off. I’m in the process of building a new system after a fair bit of auditioning last year. I heard Bartok with Naim 252 / Nap 300DR, Kudos Titan 606s and thought it sounded glorious. Thing is I’m not interested in vinyl and only want a streaming system. (Can you tell where this is headed :slightly_smiling_face:). I’ve read a lot of the posts about running without pre, especially @Dunc , and I really don’t want to buy a pre for one source. Proposed system then is Bartok to Nap300 to 606s - I’m not preconditioned to the Naim sound, so hope this is a flyer. Ps rightly or wrongly I already have the 300dr and the 606s waiting here for there new partners.

2 Likes

Hi and welcome.
All i can day is try it, as you know i have and my 552dr isn’t going back in between my vivaldi and amp.
Obviously i have the apex version now and this is probably helping alot, as i did try my non apex rossini a few years ago, and that was very close, and in the end i went with my pre.

1 Like

Thanks - will do. What cable do you use between you Vivaldi and your 500DR?

Hi
I made my own up, its only 2 wires per cable, so very easy to do really.
If you get stuck i could make you a pair up

1 Like

Thanks appreciate the kind offer. I think I may be ok but will shout if necessary.

1 Like

Its not difficult, just need to get the wires right amp end, as they are wired differently. But it shows how on the back off the amp

1 Like

The impedance match of the Bartok and Nap300 is within Bartok specification. I don’t believe the NAP300 has adjustable gain so the question will be how well one of the four output voltages matches with the amp and speakers to put you in the zero to very low bit loss range of the volume control on the Bartok (-10 to -30db). I think it is likely to work well.